The Home for Unwanted Girls

The Home for Unwanted Girls Philomena meets Orphan Train in this suspenseful, provocative novel filled with love, secrets, and deceit the story of a young unwed mother who is forcibly separated from her daughter at birth and the lengths to which they go to find each other n nIn 1950s Quebec, French and English tolerate each o

Women Talking

Women Talking One evening, eight Mennonite women climb into a hay loft to conduct a secret meeting For the past two years, each of these women, and than a hundred other girls in their colony, has been repeatedly violated in the night by demons coming to punish them for their sins Now that the women have le

From the Ashes

From the Ashes In this extraordinary and inspiring debut memoir, Jesse Thistle once a high school dropout and now a rising Indigenous scholar chronicles his life on the streets and how he overcame trauma and addiction to discover the truth about who he is.If I can just make it to the next minute then I might

Moon of the Crusted Snow

Moon of the Crusted Snow A daring post apocalyptic thriller from a powerful rising literary voice n nWith winter looming, a small northern Anishinaabe community goes dark Cut off, people become passive and confused Panic builds as the food supply dwindles While the band council and a pocket of community members struggle to

A Curve in the Road

A Curve in the Road From USA Today bestselling author Julianne MacLean comes a suspenseful, emotionally charged novel that explores the secrets and hidden truths within a seemingly perfect marriage n nAbbie MacIntyre is living the dream in the picturesque Nova Scotia town she calls home She is a successful surgeon, is

The Heart Goes Last

The Heart Goes Last Margaret Atwood puts the human heart to the ultimate test in an utterly brilliant new novel that is as visionary as The Handmaid s Tale and as richly imagined as The Blind Assassin n nStan and Charmaine are a married couple trying to stay afloat in the midst of an economic and social collapse Job lo

Under Darkening Skies

Under Darkening Skies In the shadow of World War II, one young woman must make an unthinkable sacrifice for those she loves n nNorway, 1940 Nazis pour into Oslo, a shroud of dread looms over the city, and eighteen year old Ingrid Solberg fears the worst Under German rule, harsh rationing and the exorbitant cost of medic

Fifteen Dogs

Fifteen Dogs I wonder , said Hermes, what it would be like if animals had human intelligence n I ll wager a year s servitude, answered Apollo, that animals any animal you like would be even unhappy than humans are, if they were given human intelligence n nAnd so it begins a bet between the gods He

The Innocents

The Innocents From prizewinning author Michael Crummey comes a spellbinding story of survival in which a brother and sister confront the limits of human endurance and their own capacity for loyalty and forgiveness nA brother and sister are orphaned in an isolated cove on Newfoundland s northern coastline Their

Greenwood

Greenwood It s 2034 and Jake Greenwood is a storyteller and a liar, an overqualified tour guide babysitting ultra rich vacationers in one of the world s last remaining forests It s 2008 and Liam Greenwood is a carpenter, fallen from a ladder and sprawled on his broken back, calling out from the concrete floo

Hag-Seed

Hag-Seed When Felix is deposed as artistic director of the Makeshiweg Theatre Festival by his devious assistant and longtime enemy, his production of The Tempest is canceled and he is heartbroken Reduced to a life of exile in rural southern Ontario accompanied only by his fantasy daughter, Miranda, who died

Motherhood

Motherhood From the author of How Should a Person Be one of the most talked about books of the year Time Magazine and the New York Times Bestseller Women in Clothes comes a daring novel about whether to have children n nIn Motherhood, Sheila Heti asks what is gained and what is lost when a woman becomes a

Son of a Trickster

Son of a Trickster With striking originality and precision, Eden Robinson, the Giller shortlisted author of the classic Monkey Beach and winner of the Writers Trust Engel Findley Award, blends humour with heartbreak in this compelling coming of age novel Everyday teen existence meets indigenous beliefs, crazy family

The Saturday Night Ghost Club

The Saturday Night Ghost Club A short, irresistible, and bittersweet coming of age story in the vein of Stranger Things and Stand by Me about a group of misfit kids who spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends n nGrowing up in 1980s Niagara Falls a seedy but magical, slightly haunted

The Handmaid's Tale

The Handmaid's Tale Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes h

Life of Pi

Life of Pi Life of Pi is a fantasy adventure novel by Yann Martel published in 2001 The protagonist, Piscine Molitor Pi Patel, a Tamil boy from Pondicherry, explores issues of spirituality and practicality from an early age He survives 227 days after a shipwreck while stranded on a boat in the Pacific Ocea

Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam, #1)

Oryx and Crake (MaddAddam, #1) Oryx and Crake is at once an unforgettable love story and a compelling vision of the future Snowman, known as Jimmy before mankind was overwhelmed by a plague, is struggling to survive in a world where he may be the last human, and mourning the loss of his best friend, Crake, and the beautiful and